Mexican Monday ~ Lime and Cilantro Rice

Back when I realized that my time was valuable I bought the absolute BEST piece of cooking equipment that I own (besides my good knives) and that was my rice steamer.  I LOVE rice and we eat a lot of it.  So having to mess around with cooking rice on a stove, cleaning out a pot with stuck on rice.  Forget it!

So here is the deal-io, let’s assume that you have a great big pot of freshly cooked white or brown rice.

Here is what you can do to add some great flavor, healthy EVOO and garlic too and above all, it’s EASY!

Ingredients:

2 cloves garlic minced
1 bunch of cilantro tops and leaves chopped
1 lime juiced
1/2 lime zested
Salt and pepper to taste
1 1/2 tblsp. EVOO
Cooked white or brown rice

Combine the first six ingredients and let the flavors marry for approx. 1 hour.  When rice is cooked and cooled just slightly lightly toss the blend into your rice.

Leave a Reply

