Grammy Kelley’s Oven Fried Chicken ~ Big Flavor, Easy to Make!

5259584307_38a7d4298a

When I was growing up my Grammy Kelley would sometimes make my brother and I the most amazing oven fried chicken coated in corn flakes.  Delicious!!!

I was watching Paula Deen yesterday and she made it, reminding me of the amazing chicken my Grammy made for us 35+ years ago.  Paula had marinated hers in buttermilk which I never have in the house. I did however have plenty of sour cream leftover from Mexican night and figured I could try marinating in sour cream and milk!  It worked well!

In just a few minutes I made what is perhaps the BEST freaking chicken I’ve ever made in my life!  It was full of flavor, crunchy like fried chicken, moist and juicy goodness. The family LOVED IT!

But, the best, best part is it’s soooo easy to make and easy to clean up!  No messy frying and far, fewer calories than fried chicken.  All around a very good thing!

Ingredients:

4 whole boneless, skinless chicken breasts (cut in 1/2 lengthwise)

1 cup sour cream

1 cup milk

Few dashes of hot sauce

4-5 cups of corn flakes, lightly crushed (not fine like breadcrumbs)

Vegetable oil

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tablespoons parsley flakes

1 teaspoon garlic powder

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Take sour cream and milk and blend together with hot sauce to taste.  Marinate chicken in mixture at least 1 hour to overnight.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and drizzle about 2 – 4  tablespoons of vegetable oil on pan.

Blend together, salt and pepper, garlic powder and parsley flakes into crushed corn flakes.

Dip marinated chicken into corn flake crumb mixture and thickly coat each piece.

Roll each coated piece of chicken onto vegetable oil on pan and place them apart so as not to crowd pieces.

Bake 20 minutes, turn the pieces carefully over and bake an additional ten minutes.

*Note* our chicken breasts are HUGE here.  If your pieces are smaller, I would recommend reducing the baking time by about 5 or more minutes. Or not cutting the pieces in 1/2, or you’ll risk dry chicken.

Serves about 4-5

2 thoughts on “Grammy Kelley’s Oven Fried Chicken ~ Big Flavor, Easy to Make!

Leave a Reply

